Governing Body

The governing body is the apex policy making board of Gram-Utthan. It holds its meetings 4 times in a year with the motive to develop the organization with new innovative ideas and development strategies to achieve the result and target goal. The governing body consists of 11 members. The governing body is elected for a period of at least 3 years. The management is completely participatory and the level of decision-making is decentralized. Gram-Utthan is also convinced of good governance at the grassroots level for the integral development.

Mr. Udayanath Behera, President
At/Po- Baulakani, Ps- Mahakalpara,
Dist- Kendrapara, Odisha, Pin- 754224
Mob- +91-9437450283
Email- varratudaya@gmail.com

As a social activist he has 40 years of experience with a focus on strengthening People’s Organisation, pre-primary education, livelihood promotion, community empowerment and health. He worked with VRO for 10 years. He is the founder member of VARRAT and working as CEO since 30 years. He believes, community empowerment is the key to holistic development.

Mrs. Subhashri Das, Vice- President
MIG-95, Kanan Vihar, Phase-II,
Bhubaneswar, Pin- 751031
Mob- +91-9437076225
Email- isd_bbsr@rediffmail.com

Mrs. Das is the Director of ISD, an NGO based in Odisha.  She is a front line women activist working to empower the women at all levels to have the rights and entitlements creating a space for their socio-economic, political & cultural status. She leads a state level campaign for policy advocacy addressing the key issues of women in terms of marriage, property rights, domestic violence, legal aid etc.

Mr. Govind Chandra Dash, Secretary
At/Po- Pimpuri, Via-Rajkanika, Dist-Kendrapara,
Orissa, Pin: - 754220
Mob- +91-9437076225
Email- gramutthanngo@rediffmail.com

Mr. Dash is the founder and member secretary of Gram-Utthan. He earned a master degree in social work. He is also a senior ex-employ of Gram-Vikas for over 3 decades he has worked as a development practitioner specializing in poverty, microfinance, livelihood programs and social security for rural communities in Odisha. Mr. Dash leads the programs, overall leadership and administration functions at GU and is also in charge of strategic oversight, fund raising and internal capacity building of the GU team.

Mr. Gobinda Chandra Nayak, Asst. Secretary
At/Po- Kora,
Odisha, Pin- 754211
Mob- +91-9437168040
Email- gcnayakgu@gmail.com

Mr. Gobind Chandra Nayak steers all field programmes and programme teams of GU.  He is a high court lawyer, Odisha. Mr. Nayak is the main anchor for GU’s legal matters. He brings over a solid experience of developing programmes and leading field teams. Apart from the above he is a disaster management expert.

Mr. Baikuntha Nath Pradhan, Treasurer
At- Chalunia, PS- Rajakanika,
Dist- Kendrapada, Odisha,
Pin- 754220
Mob- +91-9938646582,
Email- baikuntha.gramutthan@rediffmail.com

Mr. Pradhan is an eminent social activist engaged in socio-economic development of rural poor and forming and managing community based organisation.


Mr. Pravakar Senapati, Member
Plot No.167/8, Gajapati Nagar,
Mob- +91-9439540308
Email- prabhakarsena@rediffmail.com

A Faculty Member of XIMB, Bhubaneswar and also he manages an education institution where social workers are being trained. Apart from academic he is practically engaged in socio-economic development of the vulnerable community.

Mrs. Namrata Chadha, Member
Kapila Prasad Colony,
Bhubaneswar, Odisha
Mob- +91-9437001325
Email- namrata.chadha@gmail.com

Mrs. Chadha is an Ex-member of State Mahila Commission & State Legal Aid Service, an eminent social scientist and development professional with a huge experience in participatory governance, human rights, gender and advocacy.  At present she is the chairperson of Institute for Social Development (ISD), Board Member of CLAP (Legal Aid NGO) and also Board Member of Juvenile Justice, Khordha.  Smt. Chadha is a regular writer & spokesperson on violence against women and has written extensively on women empowerment.

Mr. Subrat Ranjan Mohanty, Member
Plot No: - 1818/6251, Mahadev Nagar,
Jharapada, Bhubaneswar, Pin: - 751006
Mob- +91-9437070266
Email- subratrenjan@rediffmail.com

Mr. Mohanty started his social service with UNICEF, Rajasthan Govt. Then he joined in Girijan Cooperative Corporation, Andhra Pradesh and also worked, in Action aid India as Program Officer. Then he worked as CEO ORUPA. With years of experience he started Manab Vikash (NGO) as a founder and Member Secretary with a focus on livelihood promotion based on locally available natural resources.

Mr. Nagendra Kumar Acharya, Member
SL.No. 40, Shiva Nagar, Tankapani Road,
Bhubaneswar, Odisha, Pin- 751018,
Mob- +91-9437031272
Email- nkabbsr@gmail.com

Mr. Acharya is a micro-Finance, Livelihoods and Social Development expert with 3 decades of implementation, management and consulting experience in Capacity building of Not for Profits CBOs & NGO-MFIs in India. He started his work as a faculty member SEARCH, Bangalore. Years together he worked as program officer of OVHA, Bhubaneswar, Director-cum-CEO AVHAS, program manager Care, national consultant to SIDBI, capacity development specialist of GC of OFSDC, JICA, consultant capacity building OLM.

Mr. Gopal Krishna Padhy, Member
At- Niladri Vihar, S2-132, MIG II
Po- Sailashree Vihar,          
Bhubaneswar, Pin-751021
Mob- +91-9437167878
Email- dr.gkpadhy@indiatimes.com

Mr. Padhy has a great experience on livelihood promotion and animal healing in rural pockets. He worked for 10 years with farmers organization AMUL, Anand, Gujarat and 22 years as General Manager OMFED, Odisha. During his tenure he could able to develop OMFED & the dairy farmers to a great extent and increase milk production in the state accordingly.

Mrs. Hemalata Swain, Member
At- Chandranagar, Po- Nayabazar
Dist- Cuttack, Pin- 753004

Mrs. Swain is the Cooperative Leader, a social mobiliser and also leader of Women empowerment movement.